Poets logo

Where The Skies End

A journey for home

By Sabbath BobbittPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
1

I walk these streets, a product of your apathy,

My hometown never did quite feel like home.

Perhaps its time to stick pins in the effigy,

In honor of that place I used to roam.

Its times like these I feel like I have lost myself.

Its been a long long way down the wrong road.

I don’t know who I am or who I could be,

I need a soft place to land to take off the load.

The lightning meets the sky, and it calls to me;

Its cathedral is the canyons and the birds.

Thunder cracks above me in a symphony,

Singing songs that I have never heard.

I cant change the way that they look at me;

I wont be what they want to see.

A stranger in my own skin, I used to be

but then I just got lost in the entropy.

Perhaps its time to run to where the skies end.

Where fires light the world in purple glow.

Maybe I can stay here for a little while,

And find new meaning for the word: home.

sad poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

Sabbath Bobbitt

just a writer who loves sharing her poetry and short stories with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani19 days ago

    I find this quite relatable, as someone who doesn't quite feel at home when, well, at home. Good writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.