Poets logo

When I met you

it was a summer day, just before the leaves fell as I did for you

By Sophia GenoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
When I met you
Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

Oh my dear, although you prefer winter

Deep inside of me is a longing for those warm summer days

When we went on sweet dates and I felt a flutter in my hearts center

Something magical was in the city air that summer, I still struggle to explain it, I still search for different ways

How pure and gentle your words were that night

For a moment even I was intoxicated by the summer breeze

Only the summer flora knows the secret as to how love feels suffocating yet makes one feel as high as the flying painted kites

And when you sat me down on the river bank and held me close, I could hear your frantic heartbeat with ease

We continued together on those golden lit days like a dream, in a haze, living out our time before the world began to fade

Do not believe in never-ending summers, for they do not exist

As sad as it may be, those memories become oh so precious, the many colors of your face in the sunlight like the most radiant parade

Eventually, the leaves had to fall as I did for you, who knew that falling could be such bliss

I now cry softly with the cicadas as I wait, as I miss you

When the earth comes full circle back to you, when I can finally relive that summer with you, this daydreaming heart will not know what to do

-Sophia Genovese 5/27/21

Thank you for reading my poem!

I hope you can enjoy this summer as much as I do.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Sophia Geno

I love to write about travel, poems, art, and social issues. Stay with me for Korean content, and more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.