Poets logo

When Darkness Descends 2.0

A Villanelle (a proper one with all nineteen lines)

By Lena FolkertPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
8
"Lonely Heart" © Lena Folkert, 2023. Created with Wombo

I realized after publishing that my original poem of the same name (minus the 2.0) was in fact missing a stanza. OOPS. (Thanks Vocal for Top Storying it anyway!!!! <3 ) So, now I present the reworked and properly executed Villanelle.

*****

I find myself on this road quite often,

wishing for the pain to end

as the darkness descends like a closing coffin.

*

Sometimes, I feel like I'm an orphan,

and walking without family or friend,

I find myself on this road quite often.

*

Too many hardened hearts that will not soften,

and to reason they refuse to bend

as the darkness descends like a closing coffin.

*

Am I simply a reservoir of strength from which you siphon?

Constantly depleted by those who borrow but never lend,

I find myself on this road quite often.

*

I can feel myself beginning to stiffen,

and with this harsh reality I must contend

as the darkness descends like a closing coffin.

*

More than ever, I feel like I'm an orphan,

praying one day this world I might transcend.

I find myself on this road quite often,

as the darkness descends like a closing coffin.

*****

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Whether to transcend or descend into peaceful oblivion, I'm okay with it.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Beautifully deep and sad.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Simply beautiful. Well done

  • k eleanor5 months ago

    Loved your villanelle so much!! Beautiful written! 🥰

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    I never noticed the original missing stanza! That speaks volumes in itself. This villanelle clearly sings!!

  • This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved your Villanelle so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.