Poets logo

What Are the True Priorities in Life: Wealth or Well-being?

Exploring the Balance Between Material Success and Personal Fulfillment

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
1
What Are the True Priorities in Life: Wealth or Well-being?
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Is Material Wealth Worth Sacrificing Health and Relationships For?

Ten years ago, life was all about getting a house and saving money. I thought those were the most important things, so I worked hard and gave up a lot to get them. But as time passed, I didn’t take care of my health while chasing these goals.

Now, lying in a hospital bed, old and weak, I understand how important health really is. I wish I had taken better care of myself instead of just thinking about stuff.

Before, I believed that giving my kids financial security was the best thing I could do for them. I worked hard to save money and buy them a nice house and car. But by doing that, I missed out on spending quality time with them and helping them through life.

Now, as I see my kids not appreciating what I did for them, I realize that being there for them emotionally and spiritually matters more than just buying stuff.

I’ve learned that being too nice can sometimes make people use you. It’s okay to set limits and think about yourself too.

Also, I see that giving kids too much stuff can stop them from growing up well. It’s important to teach them about hard work and responsibility.

In life, relationships and taking care of yourself matter more than stuff. Having good connections with others and looking after yourself should come first.

Living simply and being happy with what you have can bring more joy than always wanting more. It’s okay to take it easy, share your feelings, and enjoy simple things in life.

In the end, finding a balance and focusing on what’s really important — like health, relationships, and growing as a person — makes life better.

Thank you for reading!

Mental Healthinspirationalhow tofact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.