Poets logo

What About

a poem

By Sandra MatosPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
4
art by author

what about the fact that I am unwanted

what about if I make you feel,

that way too

what about the eggshells that we tip toe on

trying not to make a crunching sound

trying not to bleed

at least not loudly.

what about when I was her

what about this aching need

to see her again

the way that you once saw her

the way she looked at you

looking at me

she made you shiver

why can’t I cry

when I need to

stop my head from hurting

when I need to breathe again

in a clean straight line

why can’t I know

how to stop this

what about the silence

what about the words

that invisible lips own

what about this could be right

what about us

could be.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibson11 months ago

    Awesome poem! I love the way you paint scenes with your words… “what about the eggshells that we tip toe on trying not to make a crunching sound trying not to bleed at least not loudly.” It makes me think outside of the box. Really well written Sandra.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.