Poets logo

We Have Each Other

I should have intervened, made a scene.

By L. E. MastilockPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
We Have Each Other
Photo by Ignat Kushanrev on Unsplash

Dear Sister,

I went through it, too, so why did I let you?

I should have intervened, made a scene.

Staying in the shadows unheard and unseen

was how I learned to cope while inside I screamed.

I wish now I had taken a stand.

Risen up to stop his hand,

stop the yelling, blaming, shaming...

I was scared.

I thought if I told, I'd lose my mother.

Lose my sisters and my brothers.

They'd tear us away, tear us apart.

Through it all, at least we had each other.

Each other is all we had,

how could I be the cause to break us up?

Besides, I was reminded, constantly, continually

that what I saw, all I remembered

wasn't real, didn't happen,

not the way I recollected.

That I was just a child, misunderstanding.

Skewing reality for my own selfish wants and needs.

Just a child who, naturally,

wasn't to be trusted.

No, I was never to be trusted.

How could I trust myself?

I should have made a stand, risen up and stopped this man.

I should have and I could have.

But I didn't.

And that is what I have to live with.

Broken children, scars unseen, that won't heal with any cream.

But we still have each other.

We will always have each other.

And we can be trusted

with our memories, with our troubles.

They did happen as we remember.

Don't let anyone make you believe

you can't be trusted with your own memories.

Make you feel you're crazy

for the things you know you've felt and seen.

You are worthy of love and gentleness.

So worthy of peace and joy.

You, just as I was, learned you're worthless.

That's a lie!

I should have, could have, would have..

I can not change the past.

But it doesn't have to define us, we can pave our own paths.

We will always have each other, you can be sure of that.

You can rely on, lean on, cry on..

my shoulders all are yours.

I'm your sister and I love you.

Of that, you should not doubt.

With Much Love Always,

Your Sister

heartbreaksad poetrylove poemsinspirational
1

About the Creator

L. E. Mastilock

L. E. Mastilock is a lover of nature, family, and good food. She believes nothing heals better than a good cry followed by a good laugh. She is a published author and artist residing with her family in the Sierra Mountains of California.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Caasi Lloydabout a year ago

    This is Beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.