Poets logo

We Grew Wings

A poem about life, lemons, & lemonade...or something like that. :)✨

By Gina C.Published 2 years ago 2 min read
2

There is music 


that is magic,


and elusively,


you waken from your slumber.


That night we sat beneath


the sunset


and danced around the rain and thunder


of our darkest dreams,


we made beauty


and splendid wonder


out of the dusk that lives beneath


our splintered feet,


and we grew wings.

*

There are rainstorms

that are love songs,

and magnetically,

you pull me from my hiding.

That night we sparked the break

of dawn

and wrote our story with the lightning

and electric water springs,

we found hope

and silver linings

out of the emptiness beneath

our splintered feet,

and we grew wings.

*

There are shadows

that are soulmates

and organically

you cast your light upon me.

That night we sat beside

the old gold gates

and set our phantoms free (so fondly)…

we unwrapped their lives of countless strings and

we found love,

we found love beyond our dreams;

and from the streams beneath

our splintered feet,

we grew wings,

yes,

we grew wings.

*

There are winters

that bloom raptures

and poetically,

you sooth my restless yearning.

That night we cultivated seeds from past

disasters,

we lit the world with turning

carousals for kings and queens...

and we made spring

(
for we had captured)

heaven made for human beings, and


we grew wings,

yes,

we grew wings.

-📝🧚🏻‍♀️Gina Corrine

**********************************************************************

Thank you so much for reading! :)

This poem is about many things, but the main themes are: recognizing the beauty and life lessons in all situations, overcoming obstacles, and blossoming love.

I consider my poems to be uplifting and I do my best to incorporate inspirational messages into them. ❤️

If you enjoy my work, giving me a like and a follow will help encourage me to continue posting here. :)

I don't ask for tips, but any donations will help support my Kindergarten classroom. ❤️

Please also check out my instagram as I recently made it a public account to share my poems! IG: viggzbunny I'm new to promoting my work and have a super small following, but poetry is my true passion and I'm trying to grow so I can hopefully spread happiness through my love of words. :)

I do my best to post 1-2 pieces a week here.

Thank you so much for any support! ❤️ :)

photo credit: shutterstock

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.