Poets logo

Versus I

What would they say to each other...

By Kendall Defoe Published 11 days ago 1 min read
12
Versus I
Photo by Rishabh Dharmani on Unsplash

Note: Again, I am in the middle of doing multiple things all at once. No luck on the househunting, but taxes are done, exams (first set) are marked (have time off to contemplate what my students do not know); I cleaned, swept, wiped and ran when I could. And it is a beautiful day to start sharing this particular idea.

Be brutal...

-K.D.

*

Iggy Pop vs. Emily Dickinson

Lusting for life, right?

He does not stop for death now.

Emily, he knows...

*

David Bowie vs. Albert Camus

Changes are absurd.

The Thin White Duke knew this, too...

Existentially.

*

Stevie Wonder vs. Jorge Luis Borges

Higher ground for them?

A library that talks, speaks...

A labyrinth of sound.

*

Billie Eilish vs. George Eliot

When we fall asleep,

Do we dream of that mill,

Our new selves (dear lady...)?

*

Lady Gaga vs. Aphra Behn

Poet, playwright, spy...

Meat suit, muse and Harley Quinn...

Independently.

*

Kendrick Lamar vs. Drake

NO COMMENT.

By John Cameron on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Odesocial commentaryRequest FeedbacklisthumorHaikuFor FunFirst Draft
12

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Murali7 days ago

    Your articles are always interestingly weird and unique.

  • Oooo, this was so brilliant! So sorry about the househunting though 🥺

  • Kageno Hoshino11 days ago

    This is creative

  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    This is clever, but my brain is turning to mush. I had to read it twice!

  • Paul Stewart11 days ago

    Love this and the final one was sorely on point haha! Great stuff and very clever, sir!

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Creative and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Matthew Fromm11 days ago

    Unique and punctuated with an exclamation point. well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.