Poets logo

Under The Rough Exterior

Helping each other shine in the Vocal community

By Dana CrandellPublished 6 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
26
A very small collection of rocks from my tumblers. Can you spot the treasures?

Separate collections of stardust,

Together in one place, we fell,

Each with our own chips and scratches.

Each with our stories to tell.

*

We watch for new stories to surface,

While we nurture and pamper our own

Molding and shaping the young ones

Until we release them, full grown.

*

All the while, there's the presence of others,

Tumbling with us in this crazy mix,

And some stardust becomes grit that mingles,

Slowly smoothing the gouges and nicks.

*

So, we give and we take, and the surface

Slowly clears and the treasures shine through.

And we're shaped, just a little, in passing,

But I'm still me and you are still you.

*

Now we all shine a little bit brighter

As our stories all come out to play,

So I thank you, my fellow creators,

For passing some stardust my way.

***

The Smooth Challenge immediately made me think of the rock hounding and lapidary hobbies I've enjoyed since I was a kid, and the way that grinding and polishing can reveal the treasures hidden under the surface of rough stones. So, I was going to write this story about rocks.

Then it occurred to me how much the simple process of tumbling reminds me of the best part of the Vocal community. The success of the process is dependent on the interaction of the pieces in the mix and the results are often beautiful.

So, I wrote a cheesy little poem about that, and here's what came out. Thank you for the constant support and inspiration, you marvelous collections of stardust!

The challenge:

By the way, if you'd like to read more of what this community has inspired from me, you'll find a lot more on my profile page:

social commentaryinspirational
26

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Beautiful work Dana! Very thought-provoking!

  • I love this, such a good analogy :-D xx

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Umm like OMG CRYSTALS! Then...I read your poem and umm like OMG DANA!!! Beautiful!

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    I loved the reference of stardust. It’s always a great reminder of the ultimate history/mystery of life. Great entry, Dana. 💖

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    I love this Dana!! I am proud to be tumbling with you all on here!!

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Love how so much stuff starts off one way and becomes something so much more and unexpected.

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    I love this times three. The flow was smooth. The rhymes were lovely. Thank you for the stardust and best of luck to you! Hope to see this entry amongst the winners. 🩵

  • Nice take on the challenge

  • tarun bhatt6 months ago

    The poem reminded me of my childhood I used to collect these rocks

  • Ace Melee6 months ago

    I didn't find it cheezy. I loved the poem, and I find those rocks very beautiful.

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    I love it, and happy to tumble with you!

  • No way! There was nothing cheesy about this poem! It touched my heart so much! I'm so happy you wrote this!

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    This gave me the warm fuzzies 🥰🥰🥰

  • Alexander McEvoy6 months ago

    I didn’t notice any cheese in this poem. Just fantastic verse with really beautiful and deep messaging :) So nicely done Dana!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Well now. Nothing cheesy about this. Nothing at all. As Jason said. This is just a lovely little tribute and a nice connecting piece to another piece of the puzzle that is the Crandell! This is such a great entry and another example of how you are just killing it poetically recently.. I mean...you're always such an inspiring writer, but the last few have been especially breathtaking! Well done, Sir!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I collect rocks, why are they not as 'perty' as yours. Maybe i should shine them up and see if something is under there too. Treasures we all are, just like you. Your poem is a treasure. Treasure the feeling.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Not cheesy my friend, it speaks volumes and I love the line ‘ I’m still me and you’re still you’ Excellent as this makes top story

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    I wouldn't call this beautiful poem "cheesy." It's very well done!

  • There's nothing cheesy about this, Dana. Why, I'd say this is rock-solid! Not to mention quite well done.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Beautiful and smooth inspirational poem!!! Loving the poem and backstory!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    You have shared your stardust with all of us and I, for one, am thankful for that. Very well done!!!!!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I just love it! Keep shining, stardust.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Wonderfully brilliant

  • Matthew Fromm6 months ago

    wonderful, as always. you tap into the zeitgeist in this while still answering the challenge prompt. well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.