Poets logo

Trip to the art museum

By Baz James

By Baz JamesPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
1
Artemisia Gentileschi - Self-portrait as an Allegory of Painting, detail [1635]

There’s a girl in a picture

Made of bones and grave dirt

She dug herself up from a forever

Of being forgotten under the weeds and immortelle

And climbed into a forever frozen in paint

Still forgotten by those who pass by

She stares just over my shoulder

With a rueful smile and acrylic eyes

Her just off gaze makes me wonder

If this was the ghost she wanted to leave behind

Or if it was just a desperate bid to stay alive

If it was me

Trapped, not within the roots and the worms,

But within a frame, to be gazed at forever

And not be remembered

I’d hope for a fellow ghost to float by

Who’d pull me down from that forever

And burn me back to dust

sad poetryFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Baz James

I'm just as surprised as everyone else about what comes out of my mouth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani13 days ago

    What a way to describe a painting / work of art. Brilliant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.