Poets logo

Tongue-Tied

TV static & buffering signs

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
Tongue-Tied
Photo by TopSphere Media on Unsplash

How am I supposed to tell you how I feel when I look at you and can't get a word out?

With those curls hanging down over coffee-colored eyes and the way you look at me,

how do I even begin to untie my tongue?

My mind is all TV static and buffering signs,

self-edits of every thought to the point of self-censorship because the thoughts that do form are cliches.

Maybe I should find a way to show you the things I can't say,

but would that translate right for you?

Would you get the message through the subtext?

love poems
8

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Probably not. I'm autistic. That having been said, you've captured my approach to relationships quite nicely.

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    I love this story. So clever, clear, visual!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.