Poets logo

Three down

I have always been fascinated by the paranormal, though I approach it with measured skepticism rather than blind belief. Most people assume...

By spooky sessionPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
1
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

I have always been fascinated by the paranormal, though I approach it with measured skepticism rather than blind belief. Most people assume every odd sound indicates a ghost, but true paranormal events are extraordinarily rare.

One night, bored online, I found a local ghost hunting group seeking volunteers. Figuring I'd never hear back, I emailed them on a whim. To my surprise, they responded, and I soon joined them for an investigation, where my analytical approach earned me the role of "science officer."

Over many investigations that year, I logically explained away their supposed findings, frustrating my more credulous teammates. One night in a reportedly haunted park, my female colleagues and I probed the parking lot while the men explored a canyon.

Startled by an excited summons, we raced over. Two-thirds across the park, we were suddenly stricken by an unseen force. One woman collapsed, another doubled over, and I was winded as if punched. Shaken, they sensed a presence impeding us, but I insisted we press on.

The men were fine, having only wanted to share some voices they'd recorded. Though I could rationalize the voices as noise from a nearby street, I still can't explain what stopped us that night.

Mental Healthinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakBlackoutart
1

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    That was definitely creepy. I enjoyed it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.