Poets logo

The Worst Draft

That's how masterpieces are created, I guess!!

By Gargie S AnandPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
13
The Worst Draft
Photo by Yannick Pulver on Unsplash

The blank pages of my diary

Called out suddenly,

Screaming pathetically, they complained,

“At least draw a line silly girl

If you don’t feel to write.”

Feeling empathetic,

I sat down to write,

With so many ideas in my head,

Yet struggled to pen them down,

And wondered what caused this divide.

The urge to write fades at times,

Remembering an old lesson,

With a firm belief in the saying,

“A first draft is the worst draft,”

I sat once again to write.

Five long, somber poetries,

Some unfinished and some so boring.

I failed again to write,

Closed the diary with a sighed smile,

Evening happened, and I could not write.

Yet each word is a step forward,

Today, I wrote nothing but joy.

By Nikhil Mistry on Unsplash

performance poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetrylove poemsFree Verseart
13

About the Creator

Gargie S Anand

Gargie is a graduate in Economics and English. She loves to write about tiny things happening around. She tries to capture every moment of life through her writing. A soul who believes her powers lie within the pen and a paper.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Really solid, introspective work! I was so happy to read it!

  • This is so inspirational ✅ ‘Yet each word is a step forward, Today, I wrote nothing but joy.’ Love the sunflower… spreading joy!

  • Lovely poem, thankyou for sharing xx

  • RL Stevenson4 months ago

    Congrats on TS! Loved it... it's how I feel so often whenever I have an impression to write. My pen deflates and my thoughts retreat. Then, I try again to-now. 😅

  • Timothy E Jones4 months ago

    Sometimes works out that way for all of us

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is lovely, and relatable. Well done and congrats on the TS.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.