Poets logo

The Weight Depression

Poet

By SHRI GPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

The Weight of Depression

I wake up in the morning, But I don't really wake up, My mind feels heavy, my body numb, As I face another day.

The weight of depression drags me down, Like an anchor in the depths of the sea, I struggle to keep my head above water, To keep myself from drowning.

My thoughts are a jumbled mess, A never-ending cycle of doubt and fear, I feel trapped in my own mind, Unable to break free.

The world around me is dull and grey, The sun may be shining, but I can't see its light, All I feel is darkness, emptiness, pain, A constant ache in my heart.

I try to reach out to others, To let them know how I'm feeling, But the words get stuck in my throat, And I retreat back into myself.

I know I need help, but I don't know how, I'm afraid of being a burden, of being judged, So I suffer in silence, pretending everything's okay, Hoping that one day the darkness will lift.

The weight of depression is a heavy burden to bear, But I know I'm not alone in this fight, There are others who understand, Who are going through the same thing.

I take comfort in knowing that there is hope, That there is a way out of this darkness, That one day I'll be able to breathe freely again, To see the beauty in the world around me.

For now, I take it one day at a time, Fighting the weight of depression with every breath, Holding onto the small moments of joy, That give me the strength to keep going.

Depression is not a choice, it's a disease, And it's not something we can just "snap out of", But with time, patience, and the right support, We can learn to live with it and overcome.

So if you're struggling with depression, Know that you are not alone, There is help out there, there is hope, And one day, you will be able to find your way back to the light.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

SHRI G

IM INTERESTING PERSON...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    This was very emotional, in depth and relatable!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.