Poets logo

The Vulture

Something is pecking out the important parts.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
10
The Vulture
Photo by mana5280 on Unsplash

There's a bird in my brain

Peck, peck, pecking

At my sanity.

My humanity.

.

It's a vulture

That's tearing through sinew,

Scratching across bone

To find delicious morsels of morality.

.

It eats them whole.

Swallows them in chunks.

And takes away the few scraps

Of conviction left in my thoughts.

.

I am a carcass.

.

These pieces have been picked over,

Plucked, ravaged, and devoured.

I shouldn't have stopped moving forward.

Shouldn't have paused to peer at the past.

.

I slipped in the quicksand,

Fell over against the dirt

Just to rest my cheek

On hallowed ground and sleep.

.

I awoke to empty eye sockets

And blue eyes dangling

From the curved beak

Of an opportunist.

.

Free Versesurreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman3 months ago

    Wow! So starkly grimly ghastly beautiful! Well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Ghastly! but brilliant!

  • Whoaaaa, I loved how dark and intense this was! Freaking amazing!

  • Patrick H4 months ago

    Well constructed, flows effortlessly. For want of a more appropriate adjective, I appreciated the efficient use of language. I'm just waiting for you to write something mediocre so I can feel good about my own writing again! :)

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.