Poets logo

The Unopened Gift

Seasons of Sorrow / Seasons of Hope

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 30 days ago โ€ข 1 min read
16
The Unopened Gift
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Ask me in December my mind jostled on that cold gray January mo(u)rning when my brother died

The clouds were dark, the sun was hiding, my eyes were moist and I cried and cried

We did not dance for Valentine's our hearts were filled with bluesy blue

The hues of green across the city brought me hope that I could smile again. But the pinch woke my eyes to the rue

April showers cleared the skies but dampened my thoughts with tears forever falling from my eyes

Spring came tiptoeing through the fields of flowers bringing a sense of beauty in the clear blue skies

Butterflies float, bees buzz, the weather warms toward the summer solstice. Paving the way after a slippery slope

Like celestial dancers, fireworks ignite, painting the night sky with trails of color. Could it be a feeling of hope?

Ice cream cones, summer treats, and children's smiles bring me warmth and the dance of delight.

A fruitful time of harvest the tilting of Earth's axis brings the change of season. A time of growth, maturity, and might.

Red and orange autumn leaves fall to the ground. Leaving the branches bare, filling the mist with a somber song.

Thankful thoughts engulf the day. Remembering when we danced the skies the ties were strong.

Christmas cheer brings us back to misty tears as one gift is left unopened

My brother's smile, my brother's patience. It's December and my heart is broken.

๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿฉท๐Ÿ’™

For Babs Iverson's "Ask Me in December" challenge!!! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿฉท๐Ÿ’™

With Love, RHC โค๏ธ

sad poetryStream of Consciousnessnature poetryinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFree VerseFamilyart
16

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author2 days ago

    Very thoughtful and touching.

  • TheSpinstress23 days ago

    The ending is heart-wrenching. This poem is so sad yet so beautiful. I'm sorry for your loss.

  • JBaz24 days ago

    This line is so powerful, because I believe it truly means something for you. 'My brother's smile, my brother's patience. It's December and my heart is broken.' Rick, I cannot say what it is, but lately your writing has matured to this full well rounded works of wonder. Neither forced or cliche. Each line you write feels personal and it comes through to the reader.

  • Shirley Belk27 days ago

    Giant hugs, Rick!!!

  • Sadness is always so emotional and hurts so much.

  • Tiffany Gordon 28 days ago

    Such gorgeous, heartfelt prose! You captured your emotions so beautifully! So sorry for your loss Cousin! You did such an awesome job! This is one of my favorite pieces that you've ever done! It is love wrapped in a bow! BRAVO! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ

  • angela hepworth29 days ago

    As someone who has also suffered a lot of loss during the holiday time, my heart goes out to you. Iโ€™m so sorry for your loss, this was a beautiful piece.

  • Gerard DiLeo30 days ago

    Such a beautiful sentiment in words. Hatโ€™s off to you.

  • Novel Allen30 days ago

    I remember when my brother died. I felt so peaceful that his suffering was at an end. He was such a quiet soul. We all process grief in different ways...may your memories remain positive and your grief find peace in the live he lived. Beyond the veil is a mystery, we hope it is wonderful.

  • Lamar Wiggins30 days ago

    So sorry for your loss... You've done your brother proud with every word written here. I especially loved this line: -Thankful thoughts engulf the day. Remembering when we danced the skies the ties were strong.- Great work, Rick!

  • The emotions were jumping off the page into my heartfelt empathy . You are a good writer . ๐ŸŒน๐ŸŒน

  • Babs Iverson30 days ago

    Emotional and so exquisitely expressed!!! Loved it!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • Nameless writer30 days ago

    Good efforts

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.