Poets logo

The Traveller

The road beckons

By Ricky LahiriPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
Like
The Traveller
Photo by Simon English on Unsplash

I see the road ahead

The fields stretching beyond the horizon

The sky turning red

The fields will be my bed.

There are no borders I know of

No limits to my imagination

The world my playground

My guide the sun.

Cold, hot or wet

I leave my destiny to fate

I walk on alone

No idea of the time and date.

The road my only friend

The rivers my lover

The lands beyond the horizon my dreams

My companion my backpack and a bottle of water.

I find many a strange men

Beautiful women who sing

And children who play in small towns

That come alive only in spring.

I hear stories of days gone by

Tales that end in a sigh

And I laugh when they joke

And then say goodbye wishing them hope.

A traveler I am

I move from town to town

Many things I see everywhere I'm

What I search I've yet not found.

I travel by road

My feet touching the ground

Sometimes men pass by

Many don't look around.

Yet my relentless quest never ends

My will to adventure never bends

The road my only friend

It keeps me alive or I'd be dead.

The road is my destiny

The snow, rain and sunshine my friend

The people I meet my salvation

The grassy ground my bed.

A traveler I am

And there's no other way to live

I am a dust in the wind

Who may one day cease to exist.

So I travel everyday

From the mountain to the bay

And when it'll end I know not

For freedom is all I sought.

vintageStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ricky Lahiri

I am a researcher during the day and a poet and novelist at night. I am greatly influenced by the poetry of T.S. Elliot, Robert Browning and Robert Frost and by the prose of Leo Tolstoy, Dostoevsky and Dickens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.