Poets logo

The Silence

A Poem

By Nailah RobinsonPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
The Silence
Photo by Breno Machado on Unsplash

Here I sit with my glass of desperation on the rocks

Have you lived a favorable life

I don’t blame you for hating me

I’ve never given you the option to love

Could be a long wait

Do you mind

I really need to go

But I must swat this fly

I can’t make out the words

But the door stands open

I thought it might be best

You’ve told your pack of lies

And now the case is closed

Yet your defenses are going up

I need to get to a meeting

I need to be calm and careful

But I’ve forgotten how

I’m glad you understand that

There’s a sadness that cuts me off

God in heaven

Look at that

I’ve got the magic touch

Then there’s nothing left

As the second pass

But silence

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    The sadness that cuts me off and glass of desperation was very relatable! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.