Poets logo

The Sentience of a Kitchen

A poem about inanimate things

By emPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
The Sentience of a Kitchen
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

The grater is feeling great today,

But the spatula’s had a bit of spat.

The toaster’s holding champagne to the sky,

And the microwave’s waving right back.

The freezer’s being a bit frosty though,

Probably cos the kettle has come home steaming.

The scissors are feeling rather cut up,

And the soda stream’s tears are just streaming.

Plus the air fryer is a bit of an air head.

And the cupboards are kind of a knob.

The washing up bowl’s trying to get into bowling,

Don’t get me started on my hot-headed hob.

There’s always too much heat in this kitchen,

It’s always utensils and never me-tensils, you know?

The cans always feel like they really just can’t,

And the tap is tapping it’s foot wherever I go.

I think I need to lay each of them out,

Have a word with every jug, plate and spoon.

“Keep your kit-chin’s up lads and ladles,” I’ll tell them.

“Dinner time is approaching really soon.”

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

em

I’m a writer, a storyteller, a lunatic. I imagine in a parallel universe I might be a caricaturist or a botanist or somewhere asleep on the moon — but here, I am a writer, turning moments into multiverses and making homes out of them.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Where's the kettle been 🤔 Excellent wordplay, I outstandinged it (which I don't do very often) 😁

  • Whimsical & delightful! Thanks for sharing this.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well done!!!💖💖💕

  • Nice piece❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.