Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Monthly Madness

A Period Poem

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
2
The Monthly Madness
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

Day 68/366 of writing in 2024. Happy International Women’s Day. I wrote a more uplifting piece a few days ago that you can read here. This is what I’m feeling today so I’m going with it. Some days it’s hard to be a woman.

Why the hell do I have to bleed every month, please enlighten me?

Oh, what a delightful time of the month, can't you see?

The cramps that make me want to rip out my uterus,

And the bloating that makes me look like a pregnant hippopotamus!

Why the hell do I have to have a period? Please, I'm dying to know.

A crimson flood ruining my clothes, what a show.

Oh, the stains on my favorite outfits and sheets,

It's like a Picasso painting, except it’s like total defeat!

Why the hell do I have to have a period? Please, tell me again.

Hormones going haywire, it's a real fun train.

One minute I'm happy, the next I'm a sobbing mess,

Emotional turmoil, thanks for the PMS!

Why the hell do I have to have a period? Please, I beg of you.

Cravings hitting me like a freight train, it's true.

Chocolate and bread become my best friends,

Eating my weight in junk food, where's it all gonna end?

Why the hell do I have to have a period? Please, make it stop.

Hauling tampons and ibuprofen around like a damn gift shop.

Always ready for the surprise leak, what a thrill,

It's like a twisted game of menstrual skill!

Why the hell do I have to have a period? Please, tell me once more.

But hey, let's laugh at the absurdity, what a bore.

It's a reminder of my womanly strength, so grand,

Dealing with this monthly crap, like a badass in command.

Why the hell do I have to have a period? Please, I need to know.

Oh, the wonders of womanhood, what a show.

Embracing the mess and the madness with a smirk,

For this monthly nightmare, I'm ready to go berserk!

And to top it off here comes perimenopause, the jerk.

CONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    I have endometriosis and your poem was soooo relatable!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.