Poets logo

The Middle Watch

darkness and hope

By Randy BakerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4
image generated by author using Midjourney

In the midnight of my soul,

in yet another darkest hour,

head in my hands,

heart straining against the cold,

I strike hope against

the rough surface of my life,

like a match, trying

to spark the flame,

to kindle once again,

the Light that bends down heaven

and tramples darkness underfoot.

Free Verse
4

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is great. I particularly like the last two lines.

  • Catherine Nyomenda4 months ago

    We all have hope within us, and it's what makes us push through every single day. Good work!

  • Oooo, this was extremely powerful! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.