Poets logo

The love we give…

selfless love

By Kamal O. TouhamiPublished 26 days ago 1 min read
Like
The love we give…
Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

Let me love 

you as 

I could,

Not as you will 

or as I need to.

For love, 

to linger, 

have to be free,

and what 

you want for 

is not me.

You may 

love me 

as you will,

but I should 

spurn you, 

as I need to.

For although 

love 

is a desire 

that's loose,

once made, 

it approach 

that you love me.

Only you? 

I would possibly love,

or 3 or 4.

As would possibly you.

For love 

will ever have 

its way,

regardless what 

we do 

or say.

Those who say 

that they love 

love handiest 

one - themselves.

For you

Confuse it 

with love, 

whose way

Is willed, 

regardless 

what you assert.

*****

All rights reserved © 2024. Kamal O. Touhami

*****

"This poem was originally published on my Medium page."

Hi! My name is Kemal, and I hope you enjoyed reading this story. If you did, like, comment and subscribe and you can expect the same from me.

Also, please consider supporting my work by a small tip.

You could also buy me a cup of coffee on ko-fi by clicking here: https://ko-fi.com/kamaltouhami

Follow my work on Medium.com as I write there daily: https://medium.com/@kamaltouhami

Thank you again from the bottom of my life.

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetryinspirationalGratitudeFriendshipFamilyElegyart
Like

About the Creator

Kamal O. Touhami

Welcome to my little world of creative work. I hope you enjoy and support my work. Much love to ya'll.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.