Poets logo

The Light That Held

A Dedication to My Mother-In-Law

By E.L. MartinPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Light That Held
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

You know, you didn't have to love me.

We aren't related by blood or anything.

I just married your son.

Even still, I never gave you a reason

To be so thoughtful kind or caring,

To love me more than my blood relatives,

To care about my health, and embrace my life decisions.

You have loved me more than my own.

Though I did not ask you to

And I'm thankful, grateful even.

I wonder if you have any idea how much it means

To care for someone who is not your child

And yet, be adopted by love

No excuses, no bribery, and no toxicity

Unconditional affection

That was without request.

A concept previously unknown and unfathomable for someone like me.

But, an ever growing infectious desire

Has embedded in my heart

To live the same way in that regard.

The day I became a Martin wasn't the day I took his name

The day I became a Martin was when we all saw things the same.

I was welcomed in whole not in part

When we first met at the very start.

You trusted your son

And you trusted me.

As you loved your son

You so loved me.

From the day we first met,

I knew I was welcome.

No suspicions, no harshness, no request for approval

No inquiries distasteful or coldness unmovable

You gave trust and love willingly and by that I was moved.

For the first time in this life, I had nothing to prove.

This feeling made me uneasy, cautious, and skeptical

But soon, I'd realize that this family was special.

You and your husband shared a love strong and great.

It was a marriage I wanted to replicate.

It was a conscious choice and lifelong decision.

One that I wanted for our new family's vision.

Your son, how I loved him and do to this day.

Our marriage increases in strength and love each day.

I suppose that this love is a family tradition.

One worth continuing with fervent intention.

All of this love helps us on our darkest days.

So I want to say thank you.

To you and to him.

For building a foundation on something more than a whim.

Your love is steadfast, faithful, and true.

It has impacted us greatly in the things that we do.

So we will continue this family you started.

And pass the love down to generations even after we're parted.

A glimmer of hope always shines in the darkness.

The light ever glowing that you helped us to harness.

By Dyu - Ha on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

E.L. Martin

Powered by Nature, Humanity, Humor, Food, Lifestyle, Fiction, and Culture; Oh, and a questionable amount of coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.