Poets logo

The lies you told

Lies, Lies

By Alecia HarriottPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
5
The lies you told
Photo by Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

In a well web of deceit, your lies took flight,

A tangled web of falsehoods, you played your role well.

With empty unfulfilled promises, you painted your deceitful art,

Each word a dagger, piercing through my heart.

In the echoes of your falsehood and promises, I lost my way,

Trapped in the maze of lies, led astray.

Your deceitful tongue spit tales of fantasy,

But beneath the deceits, lay a truth I couldn't see.

Blinded by love one would say.

With each lie spoken, trust crumbles,

Leaving behind scars, too deep to heal, too deep to understand.

But from the ashes of your deceit, I rise,

Stronger and wiser with a newfound purpose.

heartbreakMental Health
5

About the Creator

Alecia Harriott

I am excited to share my passion for history, storytelling and poetry with readers around the globe and look forward to continuing my journey as a writer, one word at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gloria Penelope14 days ago

    You rise indeed.🥰 Best poem Alecia!

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Yes you do rise stronger!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.