Poets logo

The Last Word

…Doesn’t Mean You Win

By Earl W. PearlPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
1

I must correct a lie you’ve heard

The rumors are untrue

It’s said I love the final word

When arguing with you

When know-it-all’s refuse to cease

Well, this is how I’ll act

I’ll bite my tongue” and hold my peace

Apologize, in fact

If my opinion fails to sway

There’s nothing more I’ll spew

Until YOU’VE had the final say

The argument’s not through 

I’ll let you blab eternally

To ramble ‘til you’re done

Until I end up finally

Admitting that you’ve won

I know I’m often off the wall

And told a tale or two

So my confession to you all

Ain’t none of this crap true

humor
1

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    funny

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    hahaha so you won't stop wanting the last word? Sometimes it just isn't worth it - the old saying, do you want to be right, or happy? LOL, loved your poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.