Poets logo

The “I Thought” Trap

Don’t take it for granted

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 14 days ago 2 min read
Like
The “I Thought” Trap
Photo by Jesse Bowser on Unsplash

I used to think in the past that all things would remain the same forever. It never seemed like my parents were going to be mad at me, regardless of any mistake.

There were also always my friends, I just thought they were the most I needed for a wonderful friendship. However, the more I got familiar with that, the harder it seemed to me that it was not that simple.

It almost seemed like I was purposefully not trying to connect with them anymore. Perhaps I was just too accustomed to the fact that they’d always be fine with whatever I did.

Being apart made us different, there was no longer the relationship that we once had. Hanging out with my friends was not sufficient because I learned that we needed something else to do.

Real friends are supposed to care, understand, and be present for one another whether on good or bad days.

It was love too which turned out to be different from what I had imagined. I never knew that when you would find it, you have to do so much more.

Owing to this one relationship that ceased, I remembered love is hard as well. It is the act of being there for someone and making sure you are not letting them down.

Therefore, don’t push the person to the limit and stop treating them wrongfully, or else they’ll break.

That is the place, where I commit errors. I wasn’t aware that I would one day be faced with problems, and even though I hoped that everything would go on as planned. However, in truth, the world is not always impeccable.

People don’t have to put up with relationships in which they are treated unfairly because of domestic violence.

And that is why I believe we shouldn’t forget about communicating and working on our relationships. We don’t have to be just wishing for the best, but our friends will be with us so we can maintain our relationship.

If we make the effort, we are capable of knitting relationships that are happy and the ones that last.

Perhaps “ I thought” will not be the reason for losing the life of loved ones anymore.

Thank you for reading!

Mental Healthinspirationalhow tofact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.