Poets logo

The House of Unfulfilled Dreams.

unfulfilled love

By Aranna Hasan Delwar Published 16 days ago 1 min read
3

The House of Unfulfilled Dreams.

_______By Aranna Hasan Delwar.

I bought a small plot of land, built a tiny house,

Where you'd never come, from where there'd be no news.

On rainy nights, the soft patter of raindrops on the tin roof,

Where I'd sit alone, listen alone, and cry alone.

In the kitchen, I arrange the glass bottles you loved,

The scent of spices fills the air, as if you'd come and find it.

I chop onions and chilies, preparing,

Thinking you'd touch them, hoping everything is just right.

I cut a window where the sky would be clear,

On full moon nights, the moon would rise, and I'd think of you.

I planted evening star flowers by the porch, and kept a little myna bird,

It would wait for me to return, with its eyes red with pride.

In the showcase, I display your favorite poet's verses,

Carefully arranged, as if you'd come and see.

On the coat rack, I hang two saris, one blue and one red,

Your favorite colors, for when you're happy or when you're sad.

But you didn't come, you've found someone new,

You laugh with him, while I sit alone.

You never looked back, to the little house across the way,

Where I smoke cigarettes, trying to escape the pain.

One day, on a Thursday, I couldn't take it anymore,

I took your forgotten blue scarf, and wrapped it around my throat.

The police came and took my lifeless body away,

In front of your eyes, and I was gone for good.

Then you understood, but it was too late,

For what was meant for you,

Your golden happy home began to crumble.

You'd never find happiness again,

For loving me and then letting me go,

This is the punishment you must bear.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Aranna Hasan Delwar

i

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.