Poets logo

The Hour

A poem

By Loryne AndaweyPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
64
The Hour
Photo by pure julia on Unsplash

Dear 5:00 a.m.

*

You are the hour

I struggle to wake to

for Somebody told me

that you have the power

to make or break my day.

*

You know who I speak of.

*

They live the hustle

and praise the grind

and tell Everybody that if only

they can meet you

they can truly come alive.

*

Because Somebody was just like me.

*

Poor and purposeless

but filled with dreams and

hidden drive that only

you can reveal

so long as I kept seeing you.

*

And if I refuse?

*

If I would rather sleep

and enjoy that extra hour

of warmth and comfort

instead of building legacies

like Somebody,

*

Then I deserve to be a Nobody.

*

And yet you are the hour

the birds greet

and sing exultantly that they,

though small and weak,

have survived the night.

*

A feat I see you treasure.

*

For you dull

the sun with haze

and slow its rising light

so that every tooth and claw

can stay sleeping.

*

Except the hungry Somebody.

*

Who, in praising your quietude,

forgot the birdsong

that rang

with sweet defiance

outside their window.

*

The same song outside mine.

*

They call me by name

under the safety

of your silence

telling me that they

are still alive

*

And that I,

*

Though poor

and purposeless

and in many ways

small and weak,

should sing with them.

*

For I have triumphed too!

*

Yours truly,

Awake and Alive.

*

*

*

Thank you for lingering.

nature poetryinspirational
64

About the Creator

Loryne Andawey

Health, Happiness & Abundance.

Currently enjoying the company of Francis, Mike, C.H., Gammastack, Michelle, Cosimo, Kristen, Bronson, Bella, Talia, Sean, Babs, Kelli, Rick, Dharrsheena, Heather, Gina and many, many more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (46)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poeticabout a year ago

    Mesmerizing. Earned a new subscriber.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Love this! What I especially like is the nemesis within it. The "somebody" whose presence looms over the hour. Well dome.πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Fatima Khanabout a year ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/a-night-with-nature

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Wonderful, Loryne! I love that you wrote a letter to a that hour of the morning πŸ€— "For I have triumphed too!" should be a t-shirt we should all unlock, I think!

  • Alieu Turayabout a year ago

    Wow Soothing 🀩

  • Inyang Victorabout a year ago

    Absolutely breathtaking!!!!

  • Robbie Cheadleabout a year ago

    I love this poem

  • I love waking up early but 5am is too early for me. Though I'm already awake at 5am plus, I will snooze until 6.30am. I know snoozing is bad but that's me preparing myself mentally to face the day πŸ˜… Loved your poem! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Oh wow, that was really interesting. I too struggle with waking up at those early hours, but also feel productive when I do, but then also think, why can't I keep sleeping? I like how you tied nature in with all these emotions and elements, great work!

  • Tom Bakerabout a year ago

    It's very nice.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, this was so lovely, brilliant, and inspirational, Loryne! I love waking up early, but I felt the intense debate someone who love to sleep in might feel. The emotions are expressed so beautifully here. I had so many favorite lines, but I really loved this stanza, "And yet you are the hour the birds greet and sing exultantly that they, though small and weak, have survived the night. Amazing job and congrats on Top Story! Very well-deserved! :)

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Your writing is so layered with emotion and imagery. 5am is not my hour, but I did read this earlier today. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • I second that emotion--though I'm never quite sure I actually did survive.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful piece. Congrats on the top story

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I know it's not what you were going for, but 5am has been unique to me the last 2 days since I've had to wake up at 5 to get my son to school early to take the bus to NY for Model UN. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Brilliant & Beautiful!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Brilliant - I thought this was fab!

  • This is lovely, warm and intelligent.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I know the feeling being up at 5am. That’s why a read on vocal to wake me up . Very relatable πŸ™‚

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I really liked this! What a great poem. This flowed so well amazing prose also I’m doomed because of my work schedule my average wake time is 10 am except on the weekends when my five year old starts asking me if I’m getting up at 7am haha which of course I get up

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Great poem, Loryne. Very relatable also. Even though I don't have to get up to function in the world at that time, my body still wakes around then. I usually read emails or stories on vocal until I'm ready to go back to sleep for a few more hours. Congrats on a well-structured epistolary.

  • Congratulations βœ¨πŸ’―πŸŽ‰πŸ’–

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Enjoyed this, even with my limited poetry appreciation

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Beautifully written! It has some Emily Dickinson vibe in it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.