Poets logo

The Echoes

A Story of the Aftermath of Verbal Abuse

By The Schizophrenic MomPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
3
The Echoes
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

At last the stillness and peace of God's places calms, relaxes me.

Being alone, I almost forgot the calmness of being free.

"Can I stay here forever in peace?" I ask my Jehovah.

"Do I have to go back where we escaped, the hot supernova?"

Everything feels distorted as those invisible voices converse

Forgetting would be a blessing, right? Or perhaps it'd be a curse?

Going forward into the unknown I can't help but still wonder,

Have I done my best job being there or did I simply plunder?

I ask my counselor to be honest with me... what does she say?

Just hope, pray, breathe, doing your best, do whatever needs done each day,

Keep getting up, moving forward, digging yourself out of the hole,

Let go of all the things, big and little, outside of your control.

My voices agree, seeming smarter than I feel, with intense passion

Now I just have to attempt to give myself love and compassion.

Over yonder is the battle field I left... the place I escaped.

Please don't make me go back there, where my emotions are videotaped,

Questions I have become scrambled in my mind, as he twists and turns.

Reasons he gave for it to be my fault, as my safety net burns.

Stupid girl, you shouldn't have stayed so long... depression whispers.

"Try to remember not to go back to him." say all my sisters.

Unless he changes, right? Because everyone can change, be set free

Virtually no one stays the same forever, and he loves me...

Without him is an unknown, scary future; leaving me with dread.

X-rays prove he never really hurt me, it's all in my head.

You must act completely appalled to find out what I felt and thought...

Zero accountability, simply distraught at being caught.

Mental Health
3

About the Creator

The Schizophrenic Mom

I am a mother of 2 precious angels who drive me slightly more crazy

than I already am with a diagnosis of schizophrenia.

When asked "are you crazy?!" my favorite come back is:

"yes! And I have the papers to prove it! How about you?" LOL

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    WOW! Very amazing work!!

  • This is a story of breaking free. I love it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.