Poets logo

The Doldrums

A prompted poem

By Ash TaylorPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
The Doldrums
Photo by Mishal Ibrahim on Unsplash

I found a post by Joseph Fasano, showing a letter a woman had wrote to him with a poem written by her mother who struggled with dementia.

Joseph had created a writing prompt, designed to help children express themself with poetry.

This is the prompt:

There are so many words in my head sometimes, that it can be difficult to untangle them into something that lets me understand my feelings. I find writing helps. I wanted to give it a try, but of course I strayed a little bit from the original prompt (not by much though, sometimes its safest to keep within view of the beaten path). So here is My Poem, The Doldrums:

Today I feel like a ship lost upon an endless sea,

Lacking a heading.

Sometimes I am a sailor

Sometimes I am an anchor

But always I am melancholy.

I ask the world, “Is it over?”

And the answer is lost in the waves.

sad poetryhow to
6

About the Creator

Ash Taylor

Lover of fantasy and all things whimsical. Currently studying Writing and Publishing at UNE in Armidale, Australia. Living on Anaiwan land.

he/him

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh, I love this. You penned such a sense of longing into this prompt - a sadness that is also beautiful. Wonderfully done!

  • Ian Read12 months ago

    Beautiful work! I feel the listlessness and uncertainty turned to sadness. It is a very relatable feeling.

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    You've given us a truly beautiful poem, Ash. And thank you for sharing the prompt as well! I've bookmarked this prompt so I can come back to it sometime and try Fasano's prompt for myself sometime!

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    What a cool prompt and you’ve executed it perfectly. 🌊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.