Poets logo

The Cloud

You know, the one that's wrapped around my head.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
6
The Cloud
Photo by Michał Mancewicz on Unsplash

It's smelling the fragrance of cooking

Only to be unable to taste it.

I can see the onions cooking, see the garlic

Browning around the edges

But the oil splatters against dead skin.

The food, perfectly prepared and warm,

Is cold on my tongue and tasteless.

.

I can see the ripples of the sunset,

The slight difference between bright and dark

But there is a filter over my eyes

And it is all shades of grey.

I can run my hands through silken hair

And the sensation is stolen

By an invisible neuropathy of the mind.

.

The breeze blows against my face

But I smell the rain.

I smell the storm and the lightning

And miss the sun-drenched air

Floating like butterfly wings over my face.

When I see the butterfly,

I see its death.

The inevitable release of something I loved.

__________________________________

I'm always at a bit of a loss when it comes to people not understanding depression and what it can be like especially at a high-functioning level. People understand being sad, generally. They understand grief, most of the time. But depression is something different. And I tend to think that people can't understand unless there is explanation and that art in any form is a fundamental human form of explanation.

All that to say, this is a weak stab at describing just the barest slice of depression.

slam poetrysad poetryperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Daux5 months ago

    Beautifully captured something intangible and real.

  • John K6 months ago

    Depression is less about the big things, and more a muting of the small joys that keep our happiness ship afloat. I think you did a great job representing that!

  • I've been diagnosed with depression long ago with your poem resonated so deeply with me. You captured it perfectly!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.