Poets logo

The Cards I'm Dealt

Life of Cards Abecedarian Poem (Version 2)

By Judah LoVatoPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
7
The Cards I'm Dealt
Photo by Luca on Unsplash

Adapting to the cards I'm dealt, I can't

Bemoan what I’ve received, but I must

Consider how to use the cards I have:

-

Discard bad cards like bad habits, then I

Exchange the flower backed cards, which show

Florid xochitl's, a flower meaning life.

-

Guarantees don't come in cards, it’s chance-

However cautiously I exchange or plan,

I am bound by wit and circumstance.

-

Just or unjust the cards are drawn, I have

Knaves and add nothing to the pair, but I

Let my bluff begin with a quiet mask

-

My hand is sparse, but I must play, I know

'Nothing's over until it's over', while we

Offer out our bets and bluffs and calls.

-

Players calm and settle up, their eyes

Quickly survey the flowered backs, and their

Reservations hidden in quiet faces.

-

Slowly each player reveals their hand,

Turning over small pairs and straights, and I

Unveil my cards knowing I lost, but still:

-

Victory is more than one hand, so I

Watch while the dealer issues new cards, and

Xochitl cards spread new life around the table.

-

Yielding to memories of the thrills I’ve felt, and

Zeal for this life as I use the cards I'm dealt.

fact or fiction
7

About the Creator

Judah LoVato

Dear Reader,

I hope you enjoy perusing my collection of works, and I would love to hear your thoughts on anything you read: what you liked, what you disliked, and any other feedback you may have.

I look forward to reading with you,

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Penny Fuller4 months ago

    The combination of Xochitl and cards is such an interesting juxtaposition! What a great theme for this poem. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Dasani Jones4 months ago

    This is so inspiring

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.