Poets logo

The Beast Consuming

A poem about religious reckoning, the inescapability of capitalism, and Ouroboros

By Rowan RileyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Like

Man was called to serve

Hunger deep, quenched only by blood

Ruby red, scarlet

Beloved, divine

The holy and wicked, tainted and pure

I kneel at the cradle I will die in

There is no escape

Around me shards of blood, rivers of bone

+

Each of us cast long shadows

Hidden in the inky blackness of God's

God as tormentor, as captor, as leech

You built the world to bleed me dry

Eat me

Eat me

Sup and dine

Delicious

Lick your lips

Follow my lead

Touch my body

Make it sacreligious

Do it slowly

Soak it all in

+

Worship me now

I'm meaningless

Devour me

I'm yours

I bend to your will

I'm complicit

How can I not be

There is no escape

Traitor

Brutal

Bastard

+

I'll spit on you

I'll be slick and slimy

I'll be doll-like and effervescent

I'll be cream and candlelight

I'll stand in limbo

I'll bite the tail that eats me

I'll consume you

I'll put my hands on your throat

I'll gulp, watch you sink

+

You are nothing without me

You need to eat

You need to keep your stores aplenty

How quickly I could forget you

But no one ever does

Siren, temptress

Have your way with me

Make it count

Beloved, prove me right

love poemsFilthysurreal poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Riley

I've been writing since I was very young and am trying to put myself out there by sharing some of my works, both new and old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.