Poets logo

Texas Tea

From the Dinosaur's Eyes

By kpPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
8
Texas Tea
Photo by Zbynek Burival on Unsplash

People do not understand me.

Some think my remains fuel industries bent on

extraction, when my bones weave stories for

children and teach lessons to those whose only wish is to

discover

the wisdom of earth held in

my matrix. Revealed

like rings of a tree,

the lacunae, canaliculi, and vessels map

lifetimes. They show answers: both

histories and projections.

Titans of such extractive industries emulate my form and

consumption, careening toward

extinction; an

annihilation that is, unlike mine, self-produced.

No, I am not understood, but

an osteobiography reveals my truth–one which

has been intentionally misrepresented:

Mass extinctions are not only for the weak and

orthogenesis is a lie.

Our time on this earth is not guaranteed, and

human activity, at its current rate,

will bring about all demise.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryProsenature poetryFree VerseFirst Draft
8

About the Creator

kp

I am a non-binary, trans-masc writer. I work to dismantle internalized structures of oppression, such as the gender binary, class, and race. My writing is personal but anecdotally points to a larger political picture of systemic injustice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    kp, you addressed the depth and teachings of a dinosaur...even for today's world. Well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer17 days ago

    when my bones weave stories for children - I love that!

  • Cathy holmes17 days ago

    Well said 👏👏

  • Some great and pertinent words, great challenge entry

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Argghhh yeah true and only a few listen! Great entry for the challenge.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.