Poets logo

Take It

Take the pills or be the pillaged…

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
8
Take It
Photo by danilo.alvesd on Unsplash

Swallow their pills you won't feel so hollow.

Unwilling to say goodbye who I am today, in hopes to find the person they 'want' tomorrow.

I mourn for the person who just wants to be;

I grieve for the ghost of a girl who longs to be seen.

These tablets change the human to reflect an idealistic inside,

Releasing me from the lack of clarity within my cluttered mind.

Losing grip on my own version of reality as I leave myself behind.

Am I to absorb every milligram and live upto their expectations?

Or, stand and be pillaged by their mindless excavations.

Give up, surrender and swallow it down.

Don't give yourself much room for breath, or in their world you'll drown.

performance poetrysad poetryheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wow, this is so powerfully good!

  • Gosh, this was soooo relatable. Loved your poem so much!

  • Salman siddique6 months ago

    it was great

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.