Poets logo

Sunday Mourning

not a cry for help, just fascinated with death and what comes next so i like to write about it.

By Ashley LimaPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
9
Sunday Mourning
Photo by JF Martin on Unsplash

Sat down in the pews of a cathedral

Hoping I would feel something greater than myself.

The only thing I felt

Was the weight of the world on my shoulders

And the overwhelming urge

To crawl out of my skin.

Trying to find a way to trust fate,

Believing in nothing but human's fealty to make mistakes.

Rays coming in through the stained glass;

Stunning, sublime, and suffocating.

I just need a prayer to satisfy the craving.

The lie that I matter beyond belief,

Yet, I'm nothing but matter.

Not long for this world.

Soon forgotten;

Ash in the wind.

Make sure to let me go in Spring.

I can't bare to see another Winter.

For Fun
9

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    Not much to say since you said it all. The pain from falling down stairs last week and breaking a disc puts me in touch with the temporariness of things.

  • Suze Kayabout a month ago

    Big Easter mood. Sending love and hoping weight comes off your shoulders this season 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.