Poets logo

Strangely, my name is

"Strangely Art" Prompt challenge! By Kodah

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
13
Picture to prompt the challenge

I fell so madly in love with you, my Jade skinned Indian love,

Your mer-tail like a jewel, so bright teal

Your long limbs so elegantly placed against my skin, so cold and wet and

Dead

You grabbed my key, ‘round my limp neck

And kissed it with a slimy mouth

I longed to kiss, oh my goodness how I wish I could kiss her now

I had drawn my last breath as my human lover

Threw me into the sea, hard like a stone

But you made me feel like I was breathless when your big brown eyes stared deep, deep

Down into my half-cut head

A light affixed like a blue flame from Heaven your jaws sinking into my throat

Felt like a savage love bite

Were you a vampire or a mermaid

Or a serpent or a dragon

You, Demon-Mellow-Eyes

Captured by the dark side of the moonlight

I was so enhanced by your enthralling beauty

So painful, I felt my soul burn and scream and cry

Strangely, my name is

Death, becomes my nickname

Becomes my spirit

As we collide, colluded

And colored by one

Frightening pale blue, fall colored night

Nightmare that I want to die of

For my love of your soul-sucking eyes

Became my soul-mate

A gothic romance in a very short tomb.

surreal poetrylove poems
13

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler13 days ago

    I've mentioned Maldoror elsewhere. This resonates on that level, dark and sensuous, a sumptuous bite of the forbidden fruit! Well-wrought!

  • angela hepworth14 days ago

    Sensual and dark—loved it!

  • Margaret Brennan14 days ago

    wow!! I was always intrigued by the thought of mermaids but now, I'm not so sure. I certainly don't want to meet one. Yet, this story is fantastic. Makes my skin crawl and I'm sure that was your intention. Bravo on a story well done.

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    That was extremely dark, a little "eww," and a little sexy. Excellent entry.

  • Wow, I will need to read that over again to take it all in

  • Kodah19 days ago

    There's this artistic, abstract component within your piece that is just so magical! Incredible entry! Thanks so much for the entry! Good-luck! 💌💝

  • Oooo, a dark romance! This was so well done Merly!

  • Oooouf...

  • Kendall Defoe 20 days ago

    A terrifying and beautiful tale...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.