Poets logo

Some days I wish I were a walnut

musings on the simplicity of life

By Salomé SaffiriPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
40

Some days I wish I were a walnut,

And thought my shell to be the extent of the world.

I'd know every crevasse, every wrinkle of my shell

With the grooves of my body, and be content at the snugness of my existence.

My biggest dream would be to land onto a sunny patch of grass.

My biggest foe would be a squirrel, starved and weary after the long winter.

Some days I wish I were a walnut. A simple walnut in a bitter green shell.

Maybe the farmer's frugal wife finds me early in the spring.

Muttering: "Waste none.."

She would throw me in a copper pot to turn me into jam.

Maybe the farmer himself, flashing the silver blade, would pry out my tender flesh with the sharp tip of the pocket knife.

Doing so would remind him of his first spring in the mountains.

Of the morning when his father peeled a walnut, just like he did now, and fed him tender, sweet meat that smelled of waking earth.

Some days I wish I were a walnut.

Falling with a thud, rolling away from the tree, to a where a black bird can find me.

It would carry me away, past the farm and the forest, beyond the tree line, to where the mountain tops touch the sky.

It would place me next to the featherless hatchlings inside the weathered nest, made of twigs and rabbit fur.

The hatchlings would grow and tussle, pushing me out through the hole in the foundation of the nest.

Some days I wish I were a walnut, with only the purpose of becoming a tree.

Request FeedbackStream of ConsciousnessProsenature poetryFree Verse
40

About the Creator

Salomé Saffiri

Writing - is my purpose. I feel elated when my thoughts assume shapes, and turn into Timberwolves, running through the snowbound planes of fresh paper, leaving the black ink of their paw prints behind.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Well written and congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Great, now I want to be a nut. Top Story? Yup! 🏅

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    After reading this, I wish I was a walnut, too! Loved your use of descriptive language in this piece.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    It's a pretty big purpose!

  • Apurba Deb4 months ago

    That's amazing. Words can't describe it. You have to feel it. So impressive.

  • Gargie S Anand4 months ago

    I am amazed how 'walnut' is used to define the whole life and emotion.

  • Rana Mubashir Ali4 months ago

    https://vocal.media/education/the-effect-of-technology-on-our-health-yk4es0i0b

  • Some nice thoughts and words

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • olymoolla4 months ago

    Wow

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh4 months ago

    I loved this when I read it and it has stayed with me. There is something so elementally beautiful and poignant in your writing. Happy to be a new subscriber!

  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    Artful anthropomorphism!

  • Carol Townend4 months ago

    I agree, and some days, I wish I were a Walnut too. Brilliantly written.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    What a lovely lyrical piece! Simply stunning!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is so beautiful. I especially love the ending. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Ashley Shiflett4 months ago

    I really loved this poem!! Such an original and liberating piece! Congrats on top story.

  • Gabriel Huizenga4 months ago

    Really love this piece! Who knew how much walnuts can travel, and be used for... Wonderful writing and a great concept. Thanks for sharing! :)

  • This felt so liberating! Now I wish I was a walnut too. Also, I had no idea walnuts can be made in jam! Loved your poem!

  • Jacob Damian4 months ago

    What a lovely poem! I found this to be a really interesting viewpoint!

  • John Cox4 months ago

    I could be bounded in a nutshell and count myself a king of infinite space … Hamlet. This is a wonderful, multilayered poem, Salome! You have taken such a simple thing as a walnut, and filled its story with potentiality: a squirrel’s lunch, a memory marker from a farmer’s childhood, the flooring of a raven’s nest or the thick spreading branches of a future tree. Really beautiful writing!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is absolutely stunning. I love the detail and care you've put into taking us through each stage of a walnut's existence. Beautifully done. 💓

  • Nice poem! I really liked the perspective of this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.