Poets logo

She said, “Let’s Make a Time to Rhyme Every Month.” And We Did Just That.

Rhyming on the eighth of every month is what we decided and please join us with our rhyming chat.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 12 days ago 2 min read
6
She said, “Let’s Make a Time to Rhyme Every Month.” And We Did Just That.
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

This morning when waking up much too early, I had this thought. Wouldn’t it be great if all the new writers were to join us in rhyming one day a month? And then get your Facebook pals to do the same! So much fun!

When I got home from training on the eighth of May, I had some rhyming to do and this is what I did say. I just want to say, “Sorry” to all of my friends in my writing group who wrote earlier today. Then I quickly posted this rhyme from last year on the eighth for that day!

ON THE EIGHTH OF MAY, 2023

It is the eighth today

This is the day

For rhyming all you post

Please join in or be toast

Just one day a month until

February when we have still

a full month of poetry and rhyme

Just this day and time

It is fun

And there is no sun

Come on Hon

Rhyme along with a few of us

No need to cuss

Or make a big fuss

Short and simple too

Thank you

Love you Boo!

And still later from May 8th of 2024:

I can get busy

And I can be dizzy

When working a long day

or two or three in May

So please forgive the slip

it isn’t usually just a blip

on my radar, no I love rhyme

most of the time, but this time

it was a slip and I will do better as I’m

setting my alarm to notify me

when the eighth arrives you see!

Technology is easy for some

At 70, I can feel so dumb

it is right there for me to use always!

~

I know that so now I will! And anyways

it is time for me to sharpen my rhyming

skills today as I missed so much chiming

in on the eighth with you all

together we can have a ball

we can all benefit from you doll

Carol, Jen, JoAnn, Cathy, and more

Like buying Jen’s poetry book from the store

It is so great to have a real poet in our group

then there is me who can throw a rhyme like soup

that rhymes with group to keep it going

JoAnn and Carol are good at that and doing

nonsense that really does make sense

I will end with how I can join in and enjoy the nonsense!

Please join in as it is truly fun in the sun

or with no sun, time to end this thing and run!

~~~~

First published by New Writers Welcome in medium.com

performance poetryFree VerseFor Fun
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham10 days ago

    Rhyming in poetry writing is hard for me to do. This one is great.

  • You make rhyming seem so easy. I struggle so much with it hahaha

  • What a fun idea! Some of this reads like words bouncing around our dining room table… ‘I can get busy And I can be dizzy’.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.