Poets logo

Separated By The Sky

a poem about grief

By Siobhan McSweeneyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Separated By The Sky
Photo by Vita Leonis on Unsplash

I screamed and and I cried and

I fought with the sky,

Begging and pleading up

At the insurmountable gray.

But the thing is,

The sky may listen, and the rain

Tries to comfort me,

But the pleas are swallowed by the wind.

I now see sunsets

Leached of all color, and

Clouds that obey a different master.

Why did they not listen to me?

And I know, after a time, an everlasting time,

The color will come back, and the wind

Will comb through my hair, and yet

The sky will still feel cold, distant.

But you will not.

You are with me, listening

Sending the rain to embrace me.

You and I, separated only, by the sky.

nature poetrysad poetryheartbreakFriendship
2

About the Creator

Siobhan McSweeney

An elementary school teacher who is doing her best okay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.