Poets logo

Remind Me Of Who I Am

More than the voices in my head

By Colleen Millsteed Published 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 2 min read
7
Image courtesy of Pixabay

When I’m at my lowest and my doubts set in,

I know it’s the voices in my head beating upon my skin,

Insistent and persistently telling me I’ll fail,

That I’m not good enough, that I don’t have what it entails.

**

When I’m at my best, happiness with a side of smile,

It’s the voices in my head that reminds me to wait awhile,

Cheekily waiting in the background for me to take a fall,

Only to remind me they did tell me all.

**

When I am struggling and life has beat me down,

Their sounds rally around me pulling me to the ground,

Whispering my darkest secrets into my listening ears,

Feeding me my insecurities and forcing me upon my fears.

**

When I’m terrified others will discover who I really am,

The laughter inside my mind wakes me with a slam,

They know I’m not who I pretend to be,

No, they tell me I’m the lowest of the lowest, why can no one see?

**

I fight them when they whisper, I fight them when they scream,

I coddle them into submission, I beg them to work as a team,

But I never win these battles, no they turn into epic fights,

When it comes to these pesky voices, I’ve lost my winning rights.

**

Am I really just a collection of my good and bad?

Do my mistakes overshadow my gifts, my happiness less than my sad?

Am I nothing more than insecurities, doubts and terrible fears?

Is there more to me than my internal screams and constant tears?

**

Every day I work at reminding myself of who I am; I’ve got to be more,

I cannot be solely the voices within my head constantly knocking at the door,

But sadly, this is a struggle I feel I can never win,

Because although I lock the door, my voices force me to let them in.

This piece is inspired by this beautiful song, which spoke to me.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

social commentaryMental Health
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    Colleen, wonderful poem. I could really relate to a lot of these lines.

  • Poppy 14 days ago

    Incredibly well written💙

  • This was so freaking relatable. Loved your poem my friend!

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    Even if you have to let them in, you don't have to give them all of your attention.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.