Poets logo

Red, White, and Blue

Freedom, always, costs something

By orangepeachapplesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Today is a brand new day,

maybe today I'll pave a way,

Or maybe I wont and I'll just think,

we'll, what the heck is wrong

with me?

I used to love these colors, too,

those colors of red, white, and

blue. Those colors meant something to me, too,

to be born in America where freedom always rules.

Except today things have

changed,

it's harder to be ourselves these

days.

Everywhere we look is rascism,

Everywhere we look is cynicism.

The worst thing a community can do is

nothing.

The worst thing a great person can do is

nothing.

The greatest thing Abraham Lincoln did was something,

while the rest of the crowd sat around and

did nothing.

Abraham Lincoln and M.L.K,

they all had the same dream, and it was never about

getting

paid.

They didn't care about the money,

and there lives ended

short.

Their dreams left to be fulfilled, by a public that has showed up

short.

In our hearts today, we want their dreams

alive,

but most of us have chosen to be

scared, I can proove it,

no lie.

If someone was doing

something,

if a community was doing

something,

we'll, we would see it on the

news,

we would see

red, white, and

blue.

Like the way we feel when listening to

music, that way we feel, when we tend to

loose it.

With every step we take, a hop in our

step,

we would fight, fight, fight, with

every

last

breath.

And we would be happy, too,

because freedom would dance in our

shoes. Everywhere we go, people would

know,

"I'm a fighter for freedom!"

Because we would like to let it

show, too.

Although, of course, freedom is costly,

freedom takes action.

And in some of our minds, that would seem

quite

costly.

We wish that freedom could

be free,

but that has never happened,

indeed.

Although I am the master of my tide and sea,

when I die, what will be left of me?

Will I be remembered for things like

M.L.K?

Or,

will I be remembered for living a

selfish way?

Because, everyday we can say we are

kind people, but,

I'm sorry hunny,

truly I am, but

actions

speak louder than words.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

orangepeachapples

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.