Poets logo

Rainbow Bridge

Have fun with the other dog we recently lost.

By Jeremy WhitePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
1
Rainbow Bridge
Photo by Toni Reed on Unsplash

What do you do when

You lose a family member?

Does it make a difference

If that family member

Was a pet.

Do you feel the same?

Some people will argue

That it is just a pet.

Those people would be wrong.

Even in my case if you have

Read my work you know

How I feel about death.

If you haven’ death is death

To me.

I may feel something but

Crying and being upset

Is not something that is in me.

A dog we have had since she

Was 6 died the other day.

She was literally over 20

Years old.

When they are that old you

Think they may outlive you.

I got home from work and

She didn’t run out the door

With the other dogs.

I got them settled and

Went to look for her.

She was in the dog room.

Here is something dogs and

Humans have in common

Because now i have seen

It in both.

She was in that final

Stage where they are breathing

Funny and not responding.

You know they are in the

Final stage.

Have no idea how long she

Was like that.

I will also never know if

She waited till I got home

To finally join the

Rainbow Bridge.

I would like to think so.

It was quick after

I got there.

I petted her for a minute

Then she stopped breathing

And did a few of the ghost breaths.

Where her mouth would move

But she wasn’t breathing.

Here is too Tippy

The 20-year-old dog

That is now on

The Rainbow Bridge.

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.