Poets logo

Playing with Fire

A Poem

By Nailah RobinsonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Playing with Fire
Photo by Marek Szturc on Unsplash

I’ve always loved to play with fire

Strike a match and watch it burn down to my thumb and index finger

Watching the hues of red and blue

Then flicking my wrist and tossing it away without a care

So don’t pretend when I touch you here and there

That you were unaware of my affinity to watch it all burn in your flames

Give me all of the smoke

Make me choke

Then douse me with your hose

Then I’ll rest and won’t resist

The rest of your love

And I know this is nonsense

Because you can’t understand

How I love to hold the flames

In the palm of my hand

I can

And I see all of my years in the flame

It will burn me one day

But for tonight, it calls my name

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.