Poets logo

Perpetuity

What eclipse?

By Dana CrandellPublished 29 days ago 1 min read
19
Perpetuity
Photo by Phil Botha on Unsplash

Eventually, it ends.

Cardiac function ceases.

Lungs exhale their last breath.

Is silence all we're left with?

Perpetual darkness?

Stuff this shell in the ground; death won't

Extinguish my light.

***

inspirationalCONTENT WARNING
19

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 25 days ago

    MHHMMMMMMMM I felt this viscerally, makes me think of nuclear winter, and the end. The unflinching truth, in that we will all die, very well written

  • Shirley Belk26 days ago

    I don't know how I missed this one, but I love your sass!

  • Alexander McEvoy28 days ago

    Wow, Dana That was beautiful I love the line "Death won't extinguish my light" It really puts a lot into perspective

  • Kalina Bethany28 days ago

    Preach! Great piece Dana - I heard in church yesterday that the world is ending today during the eclipse; which is what I assume you’re referring to. Didn’t this already happen? Lol

  • The Dani Writer28 days ago

    Striking realities encapsulated in an acrostic that are so needed in this world... Thank you for writing and sharing Dana.

  • "Death wouldn't extinguish my light". I've read that line several times now trying to make sense of how is that possible. Lol. Loved your Acrostic!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)29 days ago

    Ooooh!!! I love the moodiness of this piece Dana!! So clever and well executed!! Great work!!

  • Mark Gagnon29 days ago

    This was almost too relatable for me when I took a header down a flight of stairs a little over a week ago. Reality is a bitch!

  • Paul Stewart29 days ago

    This is brilliant, pal!Loved it and like Heather...that line made me laugh lol. Nice and inspirational and I like the fact that you are forever positive. Great positive side to my fairly cynical (at times) side lol. (inter)stellar work, Danananana!

  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    Absolutely love this entry! Might be my favorite acrostic yet!

  • Margaret Brennan29 days ago

    Nor will it diminish your positive attitude. This is a motto we should all live by. Thank you for boosting MY spirit!!

  • D.K. Shepard29 days ago

    Powerful last lines! Really liked the subtitle too! Another great acrostic!

  • Perfect. So well done

  • Heather Hubler29 days ago

    I loved that last line so much but had to laugh a bit at the phrase 'stuff this shell in the ground'. Wonderful piece, ~lis sis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.