Poets logo

Pale Wanderer

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
4
Van Gogh, "Girl In White In The Woods," 1882

I was invisible and she was seen

Snow sweetly sauntering through autumn leaves

Playing the voyeur seems somewhat obscene

As between dark trees she beautifully weaves

But with my paint and brush, I hunt a scene

An image and a feeling immortal

Of which she is the slim, ivory queen

Her leafy subjects guard a bright portal

Into a realm untouched by cruel time

Where all hearts love and all words sweetly rhyme

To let this moment fade would be a crime

I will depict her in her regal prime

The years will cause us to decay and fade

But she will be preserved in what I’ve made

Ekphrastic
4

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore19 days ago

    I suddenly feel a bit creeped out at the idea of being "depicted".

  • This was so breathtakingly beautiful! So well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.