Poets logo

Out Past Dark (Night of the Soul)

("Just tender is all")

By Hannah LoganPublished about a year ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
Like
Out Past Dark (Night of the Soul)
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

I'm all a muddy mess.

Got lost.

My courage got a beatin' too.

No map.

And wet.

Feet squishin' in my shoes.

Not angry.

Not punchin'.

Not aimin' to wrassle nobody.

Though feels like punchin' somethin' or maybe screamin' might feel better than all this creepy quiet out here.

I ain't skeered though.

Skinned my knee is all, dang it.

Barely just made it outta the river.

Too dark, I guess.

Darker than I thought.

Shoulda went right Home.

But I wanted to ride the last stitch of sun out.

Sun ran from me though, beat me to the finish.

Didn't see no rock or river.

Flew right over the handlebars.

Neck deep in the water I landed.

Cold as a popsicle and had to swim hard to get out.

Now I'm too tired to push my bike Home.

Not sure where Home even is now.

Not really.

Got turnt 'round.

I could just sleep out here, but--

Dang it, my knee's bleedin'.

Need a Band-Aid and--

What's that noise?

Dang it.

I ain't skeered, it's just--

A hug from Mama, though... that'd be nice.

Pretty cold out here, 'n soaked through too, 'n way past dark is all I'm sayin'.

Mama's got better courage than me.

I mean, I think so.

I'm hopin'.

Not sure I can make it Home on my own.

Hope she sees I'm gone.

Hope she comes lookin'.

Hope she ain't too mad that I almost got myself drowned and stayed out past dark.

Hope she still wants me Home even though I went and made such a mess 'a things.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Logan

Act/Pen/Direct/Produce

Truth-Teller * Believer in Magic * Laughter-Lover

My hope...

to make art

that matters, moves, (a)muses

unlocks The Mystery

leaves good in my wake

so others

might do the same.

www.thetruthfulcreative.com

Insta @mshannahlogan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.