Poets logo

Out of Sight

Time and Circumstance

By Lars KnutsonPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
2

Unbalanced equation.

Why is the sky blue?

Right here, right now,

Stuck thinking of you.

The lights of your eyes.

Your style, your poise.

The slit in your dress,

That cuts through my noise.

"Pretend it's not me."

Smile across the lobby.

Averted gaze in office halls.

An indelible laugh

On a morning call.

Most beautiful creature,

With innocent heart.

Stand in my doorway.

And rip me apart.

"If you don't, someone else will."

Compulsive self-destruction.

My religion of doubt.

I saw you, knew better

But no way out.

Swimming with sharks

Not the place to be

I'm exactly what they say

Exactly what you see

"No more time outs."

So you're female lead

And it's "Lady and the Tramp"

My romantic flight of fantasy

Fevered words and midnight lamps

Never more, my ugliness

Shown like checkerboard

Than standing in your radiance

The kindness in your words.

So smile into my eyes.

Clad in spotless white.

A whisper of my black scandal.

And you're out of sight.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Lars Knutson

Lawyer working out of Phoenix.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani19 days ago

    Enjoyed reading this poem. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.