Poets logo

Open Sky Heart

For Poppy's Prompt Challenge

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
19
Open Sky Heart
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

It went off with a bang.

Bullet holes opened their fanged mouths in my chest

As the rest of me curled backward in open-mouth shock.

Flailing arms, widened eyes, and hot disbelief blown skyward...

Another Wednesday.

The green summer grass could look through me,

Look through my open sky heart.

.

What did the grass see?

Was it the betrayal scattered like landmines in my ribcage

Or the erupting dreams in my arteries?

Could the grass see the ghost lifting out of my body,

Shifting into something full of fury?

Or was it focused on the blood aerosolizing around me

As the long road ended?

.

It's the end of something, for sure.

Dwelling thoughts spell "inescapable end"

But I can't widen the focus because

The bullets have already been fired,

One, two, three.

They flashed in my core with clarity,

With the blinding force of finally seeing the truth.

.

It was a farce.

.

The encouraging hand on the back was a gun.

The words I clung to, poison.

Lies whispered enough become the truth and someone

Was a very good puppet master, tricking me closer to the altar

So I could be blown open and bleed for them.

So I could satisfy.

And I have not satisfied.

.

I have not jumped when asked

Nor slipped the pretty bow back in my hair.

I spread roots in the earth

And shaved my head free of expectations.

I reached blooming branches towards the dreams whispered

In my ear only for thorns to erupt from the ground

And give me an open sky heart.

.

* This was in response to Poppy's Prompts Challenge since it looked like so much fun! The link to the original article is below.*

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetryFree Verse
19

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Safia Adil2 months ago

    Wow! Amazing!!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, so powerful.

  • Painfully powerful.

  • That was so good. I'm just blown away. The real thing. You are truly a poet.

  • Test4 months ago

    Just sublime - wow!🤍 The metaphors are fantastic - the image of fanged Bullets is inspired!

  • Wow! I'm not sure what more I could say that many of the others have said. Congrats on your win!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Open sky heart...beautiful concept amongst all the bullet holes, ghosts and disbelief. Heartfelt.

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    This is incredible. Firstly, I adore the title. “Bullet holes opened their fanged mouths in my chest” Perfect perfect perfect!! “Was it the betrayal scattered like landmines in my ribcage Or the erupting dreams in my arteries?” This is astounding!! “Dwelling thoughts spell "inescapable end"” Another favourite line!! “ The bullets have already been fired, One, two, three. They flashed in my core with clarity,” This is truly a masterpiece!! “ It was a farce. . The encouraging hand on the back was a gun.” Okay THAT has to be one of my new favourite lines from a poem EVER!! Like that is amazingly written!! And then all there lines after that are my favourites too so there’s no point copying and pasting anymore😂 That is breathtakingly incredible. Omg.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Wow. Just wow. Utterly fantastic.

  • The encouraging hand on the back was a gun. The words I clung to, poison. These lines hit me so hard because that felt so relatable! Your poem was so poignant, intense and emotional! I loved it! I also learned a new word, aerosolizing!

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    So many good lines, but I loved this : "erupting dreams in my arteries"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.