Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

One Last Supper

(for Mackenzie Davis’ “I’d Read Your Grocery List” Challenge)

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
38
One Last Supper
Photo by Hal Gatewood on Unsplash

Trigger warning: This is dark, but you said you wanted me to publish it. I'm still not so sure, but here it is:

November 22, 2023

Heineken, 6 pack (Blue Moon if necessary)

Gallo Café Zinfandel

Barefoot Pinot Noir

Zyrtec, not generic

Micro Lancets

Blood Glucose Test Strips

Rx—Ramelteon

Box of Thank You Cards

Father-in-Law Birthday Card

Van headlight

Antifreeze

Eggs, 1 dozen large

Pumpkin pie filling, 1 can

Evaporated milk, 1 can

Sweetened condensed milk, 1 can

Frozen pie crust, 1 package of two

Chocolate graham cracker crust

Semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 12-oz. package (brand doesn’t matter so long as they’re real)

Almond milk, unsweetened vanilla

Sugar, 4 lb. bag

Vanilla extract

Salt

Pepper

Garlic Powder

Onion Powder

Yukon Gold potatoes, 5 lb.

Cream cheese, 4 oz.

Butter, 1 lb./8 sticks (real, not margarine)

1 can creamed corn

2 cans whole kernel corn

Saltines

Small Turkey

1 bag cranberries

Hershey’s Nuggets with Almonds

Thanksgiving napkins (large & beverage)

Paper plates

Disposable cups (hot & cold)

Visitors’ Log Book

Rope (backup)

Pumpkin Pie Blizzard, small

Make sure she has plenty of room in both the fridge & freezer

Vacuum carpets

Sweep & mop floors

Clear counters

Dust/Polish furniture

Clean windows

Gather the folding chairs

Kiss her goodnight

Swallow your last supper (clean your plate)

Go to sleep

sad poetryperformance poetrylistHolidayheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
38

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam3 months ago

    After going through a month of writing list poems, and learning how to keep the reader’s attention, you really wrote quite a dramatic one here. I did not see this coming. What a transition!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    That IS dark. The ending was genius.

  • E.K. Daniels4 months ago

    I’m glad I stumbled upon this. It’s funny how much we can learn about the complexity of what it means to be human from something as simple as a grocery list. Well done!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    I love the romantic part of list, where you kiss your wife goodnight on your list . Merry Christmas, Pastor Randy and to your family,too.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    it's amazing the complete story that can be taken from a list. Fantastic job with the prompt. I wish you peace and comfort in the holiday season. Hugs.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Truly a visual and sumptuous representation of human complexity

  • Kelly Sibley 6 months ago

    Congratulations :)

  • Brin J.6 months ago

    The way you formed a list instead of just writing out everything in action... it hits so much harder- an exceptional form of vivid poetry. As always, I'm awed by your creativity, Randy <3. Glad to see this got Top Story.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!! I saw this was like I swear I've read this piece of his and was happy to see I had!! Love that you are getting some recognition, especially as its out of the usual "reach" of a TS!!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    What a surprise to see this on the homepage after so long! Congratulations my friend. This one is particularly poignant and well crafted. Deserves all the accolades🥳😊

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Goodness, this held so much pain despite the ingredients to numb it all away. Sometimes things are dark, but light aways comes eventually, if only a flicker here and there to hold out for. Sorry I'm just seeing this now, but sending hugs and love for the times ahead. I'm glad you felt comfortable enough to share here. Take care, my friend :) Congrats on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Well done, Randy. Well done.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Holidays have so much expectation and can be such a struggle...making the struggle even worse. Pain from deep inside. Praying for those and others this time of year.

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Sometimes the best work comes from darkness and pain. I have a perverse wish to see stories from you that are not as good as this one.

  • Judey Kalchik 7 months ago

    The parallels to my father are just too much for me to leave a meaningful comment. I did read through the others and am glad there has been some lightening of the cloud for you.

  • Nice work and sometimes you need a little dark to balance the light

  • Jollyoddbod Poetry7 months ago

    There is a darkened space in my heart right now, knowing that this is someone's reality. Dark and powerful - thank you for being brave enough to share this. 💜

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Wow.. That was dark and saddening, just as you had promised. I was both ready for and not ready for it. I know this is likely none of my business but are you okay?? I feel like the came from a deep place and I just want to check in. The comment below may have tipped me off a little bit too, but I didn't read it fully as I don't want to go diving into another conversation to find things out that I'm nit necessarily privy to.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    After reading the comments, I must begin by giving you my sympathy. I'm sorry you've been in a rougher state of mind lately. If this poem is an indication of it, I hope you know you can always chat with me. And if not me, I hope you have someone else to talk to. Of course, writing is a solid form for getting out dark thoughts, so I also hope writing this poem eased some of it for you. ❤️ To the poem: WOW. You did a fantastic job. I had to read it twice, and I might read it again, actually, to see all that you did (you did a lot here). The sheer amount of toxins on that list is an indication of intent. I am completely horrified by that, actually, specifically because of the ambiguity in the list; some of the items could be for the "last supper" and some could be for the household; still, some could be for Thanksgiving. But imagining it all going into the "last supper" is...unsettling, to say the least. You wrote this list so well, though. I can see how the order you chose builds the tension. Unique so far, that approach, as opposed to using time to do the same thing. And, of course, the timing is very poetic being so close to Thanksgiving. I keep thinking about the Father-in-law card, and the holiday too. Like, this man is going to die so close to joyous celebrations; forever, they will be marred. It's heartbreaking. You nailed it, Randy. Super well-done on this. \And as I said above, always feel free to reach out. 💗

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Well 'R' - With Antifreeze the main ingredient...Just put a little Ketchup on it ~ Dinners Disquise ~ 'j'

  • Aathavi Thanges7 months ago

    I love this and I get it, and completely understand. I'm glad you posted, thank you.

  • Kelly Sibley 7 months ago

    Wow! What you've done list! WOW

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    For all it's worth, may the holidays be good to you. Sending prayers of joy! 🙏🏽💖

  • This was so sad. I know it may not help but it's the least I can do so sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.